Agile (R)Evolution

Achieving great things in small steps

In recent years, the agile (r)evolution has affected almost all companies – but in some cases it has only produced sticky notes and Kanban boards. Not everywhere the desired effects have occurred. The success of agile working methods depends on a consistent focus on business impact and regular reflection.

In this way you achieve faster product development and customer orientation, as well as more motivated employees and become a truly agile organization. What is the real problem? What should the solution look like? Then what is the right (agile) tool? And how do we recognize if things are progressing? Inspect and adapt!

Solutions

What we do

Agile Portfolio Management

Popular and successful in the market? And grown, organically or through clever integration? Wonderful – then now is the right time to focus the organization on the important issues.

Which activities create the greatest value-added for customers, now and in the future? How are projects and initiatives prioritized? How do you stay maneuverable in the short term despite a full project pipeline?

Agile HR: Employee Experience

Nobody likes HR? We do! But HR has to inspire the employees. With a reputation as a bureaucratic administrator not so easy. The only way to do that is by changing perspectives. With approaches like Service Design Thinking and User Experience, HR can move into the fast lane and make a difference.

Who are the key customers in the HR portfolio? What are their moments that matter? How can employees be inspired?

Agile Sales Push

Sales lions as lonely hunters? In the complex B2B environment this is not enough (anymore). Reliable statements on the feasibility, profitability and attractiveness of offers require coordination – but there is little time for that. Agile approaches for cross-functional collaboration are the key to successful sales teams.

What roles and tasks are there in the sales process? How can they be optimally interlinked? What coordination, processes and incentives are needed?

Agile Rhythm

Flexible and adaptive, but not disoriented. Objective and Key Results (OKR) can set the pace as a new instrument. In doing so, they bring a thrilling vision and measurable goals into harmony. But be careful: You get what you measure.

What are the right goals to move your organization forward? What does an OKR rhythm look like which is grooving without overstraining? And how ambitious must and may goals be in the organization?

Leading Agile

On the way to a more flexible world? Agile leadership is relevant even before organizations work agile. Leaders must be able to navigate through the buzzword jungle and know the right methods. Responsibility and delegation must not be opposites. We accompany you with the right mix of trainings and agile coaching.

Which methods do your leaders need at their fingertips? How will their role change? What does an error culture look like and what does it mean for the leadership team?

Agile Product Development

Better, customer-oriented products, in less time. The goals of agile product development are as trivial as they are attractive, but the path to achieving them is less so. In order for the product to fit the customer, the team must fit the problem and the structure must fit the method.

Which problem do your customers really want to solve? Who do you need in this process? What does a dynamic development cycle look like for you?

How we do it

What we have achieved with our clients

The project

After several acquisitions, our client needed to create good overarching HR offerings. As a real estate group, our client – like many other companies – was struggling with the lack of skilled workers in the technical and manual area.

Therefore it was necessary to think radically new: away from a bureaucratic understanding of HR as an administrative unit, to a real companion from first contact to onboarding. Together with the HR department and selected (new) employees, we developed employee journeys in UX workshops and designed new HR processes to support them optimally.

Our impact

The increased employee experience was immediately reflected in a higher commitment rate and, in the medium term, in an improved recommendation rate.

In addition to these visible results, the workshops helped to rethink the role of the HR department. The methodology was also adopted for other HR processes.

The project

Entrepreneurial spirit despite international corporate structure? Our client saw its leaders in a key position to meet this challenge.

Together with the supply chain management company, we developed a customized training program for the top 200 leaders from all regions and business units. In several events, we reflected on the as a necessity of an agile mindset for leaders and sharpened their understanding of agile methods. The close integration of all elements with the strategic business challenges of our client ensured a high level of practical relevance in content impulses, interactive exercises and our agile cooking event.

Our impact

The effects of the training series were evident across several levels:

Many teams increased their performance by introducing agile tools. At the divisional level, goals were described more transparently through OKRs. After participating in the training, the executive team decided to build a Digital Business Unit to bundle digital competencies.

The project

A low-interest environment and rapid market developments driven by fintech companies: a traditional life insurance companywith long product development cycles cannot survive in this environment. Our client, a leading German insurance group, therefore opted for an agile approach to revolutionize its product development.

We supported the sustainable transformation by developing the appropriate target organization as well as broadly enabling the employees in parallel. Our deep knowledge of methods, the ability to adapt to the specific business challenges of our client and the right mix of training and coaching facilitated this process. We accompanied the 100+ project participants from the agile basics training to working independently in a scaled Scrum setup.

Our impact

Just one year after the start of the project and 40 percent below the development budget, the new organization was able to complete a life insurance product. The great success of the five product variants in the market led to the client’s decision to focus on agile product development in other areas as well.

Contact us

Agile Transformation
Agile Transformation
Lucas Brosi
Associate Principal
UX Design
UX Design
Friederike Dobler
Senior Associate

Agile (R)Evolution

In kleinen Schritten viel bewegen

Die Agilisierungswelle hat in den letzten Jahren fast alle Unternehmen erfasst – teilweise aber nur Post-Its und Kanban-Boards angespült. Nicht überall sind die gewünschten Effekte eingetreten. Entscheidend für den Erfolg agiler Arbeitsweisen ist die konsequente Ausrichtung auf den Business-Impact und ein regelmäßiges Reflektieren.

So erreichen Sie schnellere Produktentwicklung, Kundenorientierung und motiviertere Mitarbeiter*innen und werden zu einer wirklich agilen Organisation. Um welches Problem geht es wirklich? Wie soll die Lösung aussehen? Was ist dann das richtige (agile) Werkzeug? Und woran erkennen wir, ob es voran geht? Inspect and adapt!

Lösungen

Woran wir mit Ihnen arbeiten

Agiles Portfoliomanagement

Beliebt und erfolgreich im Markt? Außerdem stark gewachsen, organisch oder durch geschickte Integrationen? Wunderbar – dann ist jetzt der ideale Zeitpunkt, die Organisation auf die richtigen Themen zu fokussieren.

Welche Aktivitäten stiften den größten Mehrwert für die Kund*innen, heute und in Zukunft? Wie werden Projekte und Initiativen priorisiert? Wie bleibt man trotz voller Projektpipeline kurzfristig manövrierfähig?

Agile HR: Employee Experience

Nobody likes HR? Wir schon! Aber dazu muss HR die Mitarbeiter*innen begeistern. Mit einem Ruf als bürokratischer Administrator nicht so einfach. Das geht nur durch Perspektivwechsel. Mit Ansätzen wie Service Design Thinking und User Experience kann HR auf die Überholspur wechseln und den Unterschied machen.

Wer sind die entscheidenden Kund*innen im HR Portfolio? Was sind ihre Moments that Matter? Wie können Mitarbeiter*innen begeistert werden?

Agile Sales Push

Vertriebslöwen als einsame Jäger? Im komplexen B2B-Umfeld reicht das nicht (mehr). Verlässliche Aussagen zu Machbarkeit, Wirtschaftlichkeit und Attraktivität von Angeboten erfordern Abstimmung – doch dafür ist wenig Zeit. Agile Ansätze für cross-funktionale Zusammenarbeit sind der Schlüssel zu erfolgreichen Vertriebsteams.

Welche Rollen und Aufgaben gibt es im Vertriebsprozess? Wie können diese optimal ineinandergreifen? Welche Abstimmungen, Prozesse und Anreize sind nötig?

Agile Rhythm

Flexibel und adaptiv, aber nicht orientierungslos. Objektives und Key Results (OKR) können als neues Instrument den Takt vorgeben. Dabei bringen sie eine mitreißende Vision und quantifizierbare Ziele in Einklang. Aber Vorsicht: You get what you measure.

Was sind die richtigen Ziele, um Ihre Organisation voranzubringen? Wie sieht ein OKR-Rhythmus aus, der groovt ohne zu überfordern? Und wie ambitioniert müssen und dürfen Ziele in der Organisation sein?

Leading Agile

Unterwegs in eine flexiblere Welt? Agile Leadership ist relevant, schon bevor Organisationen agil arbeiten. Führungskräfte müssen sich im Buzzword-Dschungel zurechtfinden und die richtigen Methoden kennen. Verantwortung und Delegation dürfen keine Gegensätze sein. Wir begleiten mit dem richtigen Mix aus Training und Agile Coaching.

Welche Methoden brauchen Ihre Führungskräfte dafür im Gepäck? Wie verändert sich ihre die Rolle? Was ist Fehlerkultur und was bedeutet sie für das Leadership Team?

Agile Produktentwicklung

Bessere, kundenorientierte Produkte, in kürzerer Zeit. Die Ziele agiler Produktentwicklung sind so trivial wie attraktiv, der Weg dorthin aber weniger. Damit nachher das Produkt zum Kunden passt, muss auch das Team zum Problem und die Struktur zur Methode passen.

Welches Problem möchten Ihre Kunde*innen wirklich lösen? Wen benötigen Sie in diesem Prozess? Wie sieht ein dynamischer Entwicklungszyklus für Sie aus?

Beispiele

Was wir mit unseren Klienten geschafft haben

Das Projekt

Nach mehreren Integrationen bestand für unseren Klienten die Notwendigkeit, übergreifend gute HR-Angebote zu schaffen. Als Immobilienkonzern kämpfte er wie viele andere Unternehmen mit dem Fachkräftemangel im technisch-handwerklichen Bereich.

Deshalb galt es radikal neu zu denken: weg von einem bürokratischen Verständnis von HR als Verwaltungseinheit, hin zu einem echten Begleiter von Erstkontakt bis Onboarding. Gemeinsam mit der Personalabteilung und ausgewählten (neuen) Mitarbeiter*innen haben wir in UX-Workshops Employee Journeys erarbeitet und neue HR-Prozesse designt, die diese optimal unterstützen.

Unser Impact

Die gesteigerte Employee Experience zeigte sich unmittelbar in einer höheren Zusagequote und mittelfristig auch in einer verbesserten Weiterempfehlungsrate.

Neben diesen sichtbaren Ergebnissen haben die Workshops dazu beigetragen, die Rolle der Personalabteilung neu zu denken. Auch für andere HR-Prozesse wurde die Methodik übernommen.

Das Projekt

Enterpreneur-Spirit trotz internationaler Konzernstruktur? Für diese Herausforderung sah unser Klient seine Führungskräfte in einer Schlüsselposition.

Gemeinsam mit dem Supply-Chain-Management-Unternehmen entwickelten wir ein maßgeschneidertes Trainingsprogramm für seine Top200 Leaders aller Regionen und Geschäftsbereiche. In mehreren Events reflektierten wir Agile als notwendiges Mindset von Führungskräften und schärften das Verständnis für Agile Methoden. Die enge Verzahnung aller Elemente mit den strategischen Geschäftsherausforderungen unseres Klienten sicherte eine hohe Praxisrelevanz bei inhaltlichen Impulsen, interaktiven Übungen und unserem Agile-Cooking-Event.

Unser Impact

Die Effekte der Trainingsreihe zeigten sich über mehrere Ebenen hinweg:

Viele Teams steigerten ihre Performance durch die Einführung Agiler Tools. Auf Bereichsebene wurden Ziele durch OKRs transparenter beschrieben. Das Executive Team entschloss sich nach Teilnahme am Training zum Aufbau einer Digital Business Unit zur Bündelung digitaler Kompetenzen.

Das Projekt

Ein Niedrigzinsumfeld und durch FinTechs getriebene rasante Marktentwicklungen: Klassische Lebensversicherungen mit langen Produktentwicklungszyklen können in diesem Umfeld nicht überleben. Unser Klient, ein führender deutscher Versicherungskonzern, entschied sich daher für einen agilen Ansatz, um seine Produktentwicklung zu revolutionieren.

Die nachhaltige Transformation unterstützten wir durch die Erarbeitung der geeigneten Zielorganisation sowie die eine parallel laufende breite Befähigung der Mitarbeiter*innen. Dabei entscheidend war unsere tiefe Methodenkenntnis, die Anschlussfähigkeit an die spezifischen Geschäftsherausforderungen des Klienten und der richtige Mix aus Trainings und Coaching. Die über 100 Projektbeteiligten begleiteten wir von der Agile Basics-Schulung bis zum selbstständigen Arbeiten in einem skalierten Scrum Setup.

Unser Impact

Bereits ein Jahr nach Projektbeginn und 40 Prozent unter dem Entwicklungsbudget konnte die neue Organisation ein Lebensversicherungsprodukt fertigstellen. Der große Erfolg der fünf Produktvarianten im Markt führte zu der Entscheidung des Klienten, auch in anderen Bereichen auf agile Produktentwicklung zu setzen.

Sprechen Sie uns an

Agile Transformation
Agile Transformation
Lucas Brosi
Project Manager
UX Design
UX Design
Friederike Dobler
Senior Associate