How to make the transformation work?

Organisational Agility

Becoming agile - that is the goal of many companies. They want to be faster to market, closer to customers or better at cross-departmental collaboration. To promote agility, employees undergo extensive training, agile coaches are hired or the organisational structure is adapted. And yet the results usually fall short of expectations.

So how can the transformation succeed? Together with NewRe, we discussed this with managers and experts from various areas (innovation, HR, IT, operations, strategy and transformation) at a drinks reception in Zurich shortly before the lockdowns caused by COVID-19.

Clear focus on organisational agility

If the transformation to greater agility is to succeed, it must first be clarified what is actually meant by agility. We differentiate between three different perspectives:

Philosophy
Framework and methodology
Organisational requirements

The aim of every agile transformation should be to increase organisational agility. To achieve this, the attitudes of managers and employees must change. Of course, proven agile approaches (e.g. Lean Startup, Kanban, Scrum and XP) or scaling frameworks (e.g. Kanban Flightlevels, LeSS or SAFe) help in many cases. At the end of the day, however, agility must be measured by results: are we as an organisation more successful at adapting quickly to our environment and implementing feedback promptly? Are we actually living up to our organisational claim of greater agility?

Stringent success orientation and target image

Agility is not an end in itself and should not be a fad that - whatever the cost - has to be implemented across the board and everywhere. A clear perspective on what exactly needs to be improved is therefore crucial for a successful agile transformation. It should also be clear how progress can be measured so that the effectiveness of the measures can be checked and adjusted based on data. This perspective and the "reason why" must be as specific as possible and go beyond empty phrases such as "simply faster time-to-market" or "significantly better collaboration". Our experience shows that a common and precise understanding of why agility is essential for your own company and why exactly agile ways of thinking and working should be promoted is fundamental to success.

However, a precise understanding does not mean a detailed blueprint, but rather the clearest possible definition of the organisational capabilities to be achieved. Agile frameworks and good practices ("Spotify, ick hör Dir trapsen") can serve as inspiration and a starting point, but should not be dogmatically modelled. Specific approaches and dimensions of success for the company's situation must then be developed on this basis.

Learning process

A stringent target image and a regularly reviewed roadmap (which is based on the seven dimensions of organisational agility) help to set a learning process in motion that follows agile principles itself. At the heart of this are hypothesis-based, carefully designed tests: which changes and experiments are we convinced will help us become more agile as an organisation? A cycle of Inspect & Adapt now begins with a review of the results of the tests.

The organisation learns from experience which framework conditions need to be adapted in order to be successful. Such an approach can also help to deal with the typical challenge of a transformation: the paradoxical expectation of senior management to describe the target state of the transformation very precisely - while fully understanding that this is not fully possible due to the complexity of the project.

Are you facing similar issues? We would be happy to discuss your specific experiences and challenges with you and support you during your transformation to a more agile organisation.

Talk to us

Dr. Axel Sauder
Dr. Axel Sauder
Partner

Kontaktanfrage

Weitere themenverwandte Insights

Alle Insights

Restructuring in companies

Restructuring is complex and fraught with risks and uncertainties at all levels. The success of restructuring therefore depends not only on a good concept, but also on the effective management of these risks.

Scaled Agile Frameworks – damit Agilität auch in großen Unternehmen funktioniert

How can large companies also work in an agile way? Scaled agile frameworks are a first starting point for scaling agile working methods.

How organisational development works: procedure and tips

Every organisation is unique and every organisational development poses different challenges. We provide tips.

Agile leadership: the most common pitfalls and best tips

In this article, we share our perspective on agile leadership and take a look at the three crucial components of mindset, processes and roles. We also clear up common misconceptions and give tips on how you and your team can work successfully in an agile way.

How to make the transformation work?

Organizational Agility

Agil werden – das ist das Ziel vieler Unternehmen. Sie wollen schneller am Markt, näher an den Kunden oder besser in der bereichsübergreifenden Zusammenarbeit sein. Zur Förderung von Agilität werden Mitarbeitende aufwändig geschult, agile Coaches eingestellt oder die organisatorische Struktur angepasst. Und doch bleiben die Erfolge meist hinter den Erwartungen zurück.

Wie kann die Transformation also gelingen? Hierzu haben wir, gemeinsam mit der NewRe, mit Führungskräften und Expert:innen aus unterschiedlichen Bereichen (Innovation, HR, IT, Operations, Strategie und Transformation) im Rahmen eines Apéros in Zürich kurz vor den durch COVID-19 bedingten Lockdowns diskutiert.

Klare Orientierung auf organisatorische Agilität

Wenn die Transformation zu mehr Agilität gelingen soll, dann muss zunächst geklärt werden, was mit Agilität eigentlich gemeint ist. Dabei unterscheiden wir drei verschiedene Perspektiven:

Philosophie
Framework und Methodik
Organisatorischer Anspruch

Ziel jeder agilen Transformation sollte die Steigerung der organisatorischen Agilität sein. Dafür müssen sich Einstellungen von Führungskräften und Mitarbeitenden ändern. Selbstverständlich helfen in vielen Fällen bewährte agile Ansätze (z. B. Lean Startup, Kanban, Scrum und XP) oder Skalierungsframeworks (z. B. Kanban Flightlevels, LeSS oder SAFe). Am Ende des Tages muss sich die Agilität jedoch an Ergebnissen messen lassen: Sind wir als Organisation erfolgreicher darin, uns schnell auf unsere Umwelt einzustellen und Feedback zeitnah umzusetzen? Lösen wir unseren organisatorischen Anspruch an mehr Agilität tatsächlich ein?

Stringente Erfolgsorientierung und Zielbild

Agilität ist kein Selbstzweck und sollte auch keine Mode sein, die – koste es, was es wolle – flächendeckend und überall umgesetzt werden muss. Entscheidend für eine erfolgreiche agile Transformation ist daher eine klare Perspektive darauf, was genau besser werden soll. Auch sollte klar sein, wie Fortschritt gemessen werden kann, um datenbasiert die Wirksamkeit der Maßnahmen zu überprüfen und nachzusteuern. Diese Perspektive und der „Reason Why“ muss möglichst spezifisch sein und über Floskeln von „einfach schnellerer Time-To-Market“ oder „deutlich besser zusammenarbeiten“ hinausgehen. Unsere Erfahrung zeigt, dass ein gemeinsames und möglichst präzises Verständnis davon, warum Agilität wesentlich für das eigene Unternehmen ist und weshalb genau agile Denk- und Arbeitsweisen gefördert werden sollen, für den Erfolg elementar ist.

Präzises Verständnis bedeutet jedoch keine detaillierte Blaupause, sondern eher eine möglichst klare Definition der zu erreichenden organisatorischen Fähigkeiten. Agile Frameworks und Good Practices („Spotify, ick hör Dir trapsen“) können als Inspiration und Startpunkt dienen, sollten aber nicht dogmatisch nach Schema F durchdekliniert werden. Auf dieser Grundlage müssen dann spezifische Ansätze und Erfolgsdimensionen für die Situation des Unternehmens entwickelt werden.

Lernender Prozess

Ein stringentes Zielbild und eine regelmäßig überprüfte Roadmap (die sich an den sieben Dimensionen organisatorischer Agilität orientiert) helfen, einen lernenden Prozess in Gang zu setzen, der selbst agilen Prinzipien folgt. Herzstück sind hypothesenbasierte, sorgfältig konzipierte Tests: Von welchen Veränderungen und Experimenten sind wir überzeugt, dass Sie uns helfen, als Organisation agiler zu werden? Es startet nun ein Kreislauf von Inspect & Adapt mit Überprüfung der Ergebnisse der Tests.

Hierbei lernt die Organisation erfahrungsbasiert, welche Rahmenbedingungen angepasst werden müssen, um erfolgreich zu sein. Ein solches Vorgehen kann auch helfen, mit der typischen Herausforderung einer Transformation umzugehen: die paradoxe Erwartung an das obere Management, sehr genau den Zielzustand der Transformation zu beschreiben – während genau verstanden wird, dass dies aufgrund der Komplexität des Vorhabens nicht in vollem Umfang möglich ist. 

Stehen auch Sie vor ähnlichen Fragestellungen? Gerne tauschen wir uns mit Ihnen über Ihre spezifischen Erfahrungen und Herausforderungen aus und begleiten Sie während Ihrer Transformation zu einer agileren Organisation.

Sprechen Sie uns an

Dr. Axel Sauder
Dr. Axel Sauder
Partner

Kontaktanfrage

Weitere themenverwandte Insights

Alle Insights

Restrukturierung in Unternehmen

Restrukturierungen sind komplex und mit Risiken und Unwägbarkeiten auf allen Ebenen behaftet. Daher hängt der Erfolg der Restrukturierung nicht nur von einem guten Konzept, sondern auch von der wirksamen Beherrschung dieser Risiken ab.

Scaled Agile Frameworks – damit Agilität auch in großen Unternehmen funktioniert

Wie können auch große Unternehmen agil arbeiten? Scaled Agile Frameworks sind ein erster Ansatzpunkt zur Skalierung agiler Arbeitsweisen.

So gelingt Organisationsentwicklung: Vorgehen und Tipps

Jede Organisation ist einzigartig und jede Organisationsentwicklung birgt unterschiedliche Herausforderungen. Wir geben Tipps.

Agile Führung: die häufigsten Fallen und besten Tipps

In diesem Artikel teilen wir unsere Perspektive auf agile Führung und werfen einen Blick auf die drei entscheidenden Komponenten Mindset, Prozesse und Rollen. Außerdem räumen wir mit verbreiteten Missverständnissen auf und geben Tipps, wie Sie und Ihr Team erfolgreich agil arbeiten können.