TOM will do it

Transformation of the global sales organisation of an automotive supplier

At first glance, all the prerequisites for successful sales work had been created: a new organisation with business units (BUs) clearly aligned to customer segments and corresponding sales roles; an overarching sales management system for channel and product management and detailed target processes as part of a process house. In addition, change managers were established as contact persons in the area to support the change. The start of the new organisation also went largely smoothly - only the expected increase in performance did not materialise, as key objectives of the reorganisation were not achieved: more exchange on successful negotiation strategies between the key account managers, proactive approach to potential sales opportunities outside the BU, early reporting of risks, further development of the portfolio to include attractive, high-margin products. All in all, despite all the formal changes, employees and managers continued to act as they did in the old organisation.

In our experience, this is not a surprising finding: during transformations, it is important to communicate very clearly what the new organisation should achieve in the future and what is expected of individuals. Without this clarity, structural and systemic changes alone are largely ineffective.

In dialogue with the responsible CEO, we have created precisely this clarity and codified it in a simple, comprehensible and, in particular, attractive Target Operating Model (TOM). The core elements are

  • Overarching goals of the future direction
  • Basic logic of the new sales management
  • Core levers for increasing performance
  • Most important (high-level) collaboration processes
  • Central responsibilities and committees
  • Illustration based on use cases with specific fields of application

It was crucial to develop this target model step by step in an agile approach from the work on specific sales initiatives (instead of spending a lot of time on conceptual detailing again). In this way, we jointly ensured rapid impact and, at the same time, practical development in which the various BUs and sales roles are mapped. The cornerstones of the agile development approach were

  • the joint development of the most important guidelines of the TOM in a cross-BU and cross-functional team across several management levels,
  • iterative-incremental concretisation of the model using a BU as an example with gradual expansion of the functional scope and
  • closely synchronised sprint logic for the development of concrete results in "hackathons" (weekly daily workshops) and regular reviews with decision-makers.

This quickly resulted in a practicable and tried-and-tested version of the TOM. In the subsequent implementation, we ensured a good balance of top-down and bottom-up elements in order to provide sufficient orientation, but also to create the necessary degree of freedom for sales employees to take their own initiative:

  • Convincing presentation of the TOM cornerstones by credible managers at a central event (reason-why, benefit translation and use cases for all roles);
  • Setting minimum uniform guidelines and standards for a few core processes, beyond which clear, decentralised degrees of freedom;
  • Accompanying establishment of a corresponding implementation process with the interlinking of review meetings at Management Board level with explicit delegation of responsibility to the operational level (e.g. full transparency on price limits with increased degrees of freedom for KAMs).

Sustainable anchoring of the transformation requires understanding, actual changes and clear consistency at two levels:

  • Securing the change in behaviour through role modelling by managers - if they act convincingly, work clearly within the framework of the new operating model and, in case of doubt, personnel consequences are also drawn, the organisation will follow. Further elements to strengthen the behavioural change are training and peer coaching to remove potential technical hurdles for the sales team.
  • Provision of customised systems and framework conditions - the necessary tools must be user-friendly and easily available so that they are accepted. However, they must also simply be unavoidable at key points. Only through consistent utilisation can the overall and individual positive effect be achieved. This often means switching off special processes. This also applies to the newly created collaboration formats and routines, which require both clear consistency in implementation and compliance.

The joint development of a clear target picture, the optimal balance of push and pull in implementation and the parallel addressing of systemic and behavioural levers have now resulted in a significant increase in sales performance - the budgeted turnover was exceeded by more than 20% and the margin was increased at the same time thanks to the clear focus on more profitable products and attractive customer segments. And this was achieved with lean consulting support focused on the decisive phases, in which functional sales and change expertise was dovetailed with the implementation-oriented hands-on skills of the organisation.

Talk to us

Dr. Axel Sauder
Dr. Axel Sauder
Partner

Kontaktanfrage

Weitere themenverwandte Insights

Alle Insights

Restructuring in companies

Restructuring is complex and fraught with risks and uncertainties at all levels. The success of restructuring therefore depends not only on a good concept, but also on the effective management of these risks.

Scaled Agile Frameworks – damit Agilität auch in großen Unternehmen funktioniert

How can large companies also work in an agile way? Scaled agile frameworks are a first starting point for scaling agile working methods.

How organisational development works: procedure and tips

Every organisation is unique and every organisational development poses different challenges. We provide tips.

Agile leadership: the most common pitfalls and best tips

In this article, we share our perspective on agile leadership and take a look at the three crucial components of mindset, processes and roles. We also clear up common misconceptions and give tips on how you and your team can work successfully in an agile way.

TOM will do it

Transformation der globalen Vertriebsorganisation eines Automobilzulieferers

Auf den ersten Blick hatte man alle Voraussetzungen für erfolgreiche Vertriebsarbeit geschaffen: eine neue Organisation mit klar auf Kundensegmente ausgerichteten Business Units (BUs) und entsprechenden Vertriebsrollen; eine übergreifende Vertriebssteuerung für das Kanal- und Produktmanagement und detailliert ausgearbeitete Sollprozesse im Rahmen eines Prozesshauses. Zudem waren Change Manager:innen als Ansprechpartner:innen in der Fläche etabliert und sollten die Veränderung begleiten. Der Start in die neue Organisation gelang auch weitgehend reibungslos – nur die erwartete Leistungssteigerung blieb aus, da zentrale Ziele der Reorganisation nicht erreicht wurden: mehr Austausch zu erfolgreichen Verhandlungsstrategien zwischen den Key Accounter:innen, proaktiver Angang möglicher Umsatzchancen außerhalb der BU, frühzeitige Meldung von Risiken, Weiterentwicklung des Portfolios auf attraktive, margenstarke Produkte. In Summe: Trotz aller formalen Veränderungen agierten Mitarbeitende und Führungskräfte weiter wie in der alten Organisation.

Unserer Erfahrung nach ist das kein überraschender Befund: Es kommt darauf an, bei Transformationen sehr klar zu vermitteln, was die neue Organisation in Zukunft leisten soll und was von den Individuen erwartet wird. Ohne diese Klarheit sind allein strukturelle und systemische Veränderungen eben weitgehend wirkungslos.

Im Dialog mit dem verantwortlichen CEO haben wir genau diese Klarheit geschaffen und in einem einfachen, nachvollziehbaren und insbesondere attraktiven Target Operating Model (TOM) kodifiziert. Kernelemente sind:

  • Übergreifende Ziele der zukünftigen Ausrichtung
  • Grundlogik der neuen Vertriebssteuerung
  • Kernhebel zur Performance Steigerung
  • Wichtigste (high-level) Prozesse der Zusammenarbeit
  • Zentrale Verantwortlichkeiten und Gremien
  • Illustration anhand von Use Cases mit konkreten Anwendungsfeldern

Entscheidend war, dieses Zielmodell in einem agilen Vorgehen schrittweise aus der Arbeit an konkreten Vertriebsinitiativen zu entwickeln (anstatt wieder viel Zeit mit konzeptioneller Detaillierung zu verbringen). So sicherten wir gemeinsam schnelle Wirkung und gleichzeitig eine praxisnahe Entwicklung, in der die unterschiedlichen BUs und Vertriebsrollen abgebildet sind. Eckpunkte des agilen Entwicklungsansatzes waren

  • die gemeinsame Entwicklung der wichtigsten Leitplanken des TOM in einem cross-BU und cross-funktionalen Team über mehrere Führungsebenen,
  • iterative-inkrementelle Konkretisierung des Models exemplarisch an einer BU mit schrittweiser Ausweitung des Funktionsumfangs und
  • eng getaktete Sprint Logik zur Entwicklung konkreter Ergebnisse in „Hackathons“ (wöchentliche Tagesworkshops) und regelmäßigen Reviews mit Entscheider:innen.

Somit lag schnell eine praktikable und praxiserprobte Version des TOM vor. In der nachfolgenden Umsetzung haben wir auf eine gute Balance von top-down und bottom-up Elementen geachtet, um ausreichend Orientierung zu schaffen, aber auch die erforderlichen Freiheitsgrade für Eigeninitiative der Vertriebsmitarbeitenden zu schaffen:

  • Überzeugende Präsentation der TOM-Eckpunkte durch glaubwürdige Führungskräfte auf einer zentralen Veranstaltung (Reason-Why, Vorteilsübersetzung und Use Cases für alle Rollen);
  • Setzung minimaler einheitlicher Handlungsvorgaben und Standards für einige wenige Kernprozesse, jenseits davon klare, dezentrale Freiheitsgrade;
  • begleitend Etablierung eines entsprechenden Umsetzungsprozesses mit der Verzahnung von Review Meetings auf Vorstands-Ebene mit expliziter Verantwortungsdelegation auf die operative Ebene (z. B. volle Transparenz über Preisgrenzen mit erhöhten Freiheitsgraden für KAMs).

Nachhaltige Verankerung der Transformation benötigt Verständnis, tatsächliche Veränderungen und klare Konsequenz auf zwei Ebenen:

  • Absicherung der Verhaltensänderung durch „Role modeling“ der Führungskräfte – wenn diese überzeugend handeln, klar im Rahmen des neuen Operating Model arbeiten und im Zweifel auch personelle Konsequenzen gezogen werden, folgt die Organisation. Weitere Elemente zur Stärkung der Verhaltensänderung sind Trainings und Peer Coachings zur Beseitigung möglicher fachlicher Hürden der Vertriebsmannschaft.
  • Bereitstellung angepasster Systeme und Rahmenbedingungen – notwendige Werkzeuge müssen nutzerfreundlich und leicht verfügbar sein, sodass sie Akzeptanz finden. An zentralen Stellen müssen sie jedoch auch schlicht unumgänglich sein. Nur durch konsequente Nutzung kann sich der übergreifende und individuell positive Effekt einstellen. Oft heißt das, Sonderprozesse hart abzuschalten. Dies trifft auch auf die neu geschaffenen Formate der Zusammenarbeit und Routinen zu, die gleichermaßen klare Konsequenz in der Umsetzung und Einhaltung erfordern.

Durch die gemeinsame Erarbeitung eines klaren Zielbilds, die optimale Balance von Push & Pull in der Umsetzung und die parallele Adressierung systemischer und verhaltensseitiger Hebel gelang nun eine signifikante Performancesteigerung im Vertrieb – so konnte der budgetierte Umsatz um mehr als 20 % übertroffen und gleichzeitig die Marge durch die klare Ausrichtung auf profitablere Produkte und attraktive Kundensegmente erhöht werden. Und das mit einer schlanken, auf die entscheidenden Phasen fokussierten Beratungsunterstützung, in der funktionale Vertriebs- und Change-Kompetenz mit umsetzungsorientierter Hands-on-Befähigung der Organisation verzahnt war.

Sprechen Sie uns an

Dr. Axel Sauder
Dr. Axel Sauder
Partner

Kontaktanfrage

Weitere themenverwandte Insights

Alle Insights

Restrukturierung in Unternehmen

Restrukturierungen sind komplex und mit Risiken und Unwägbarkeiten auf allen Ebenen behaftet. Daher hängt der Erfolg der Restrukturierung nicht nur von einem guten Konzept, sondern auch von der wirksamen Beherrschung dieser Risiken ab.

Scaled Agile Frameworks – damit Agilität auch in großen Unternehmen funktioniert

Wie können auch große Unternehmen agil arbeiten? Scaled Agile Frameworks sind ein erster Ansatzpunkt zur Skalierung agiler Arbeitsweisen.

So gelingt Organisationsentwicklung: Vorgehen und Tipps

Jede Organisation ist einzigartig und jede Organisationsentwicklung birgt unterschiedliche Herausforderungen. Wir geben Tipps.

Agile Führung: die häufigsten Fallen und besten Tipps

In diesem Artikel teilen wir unsere Perspektive auf agile Führung und werfen einen Blick auf die drei entscheidenden Komponenten Mindset, Prozesse und Rollen. Außerdem räumen wir mit verbreiteten Missverständnissen auf und geben Tipps, wie Sie und Ihr Team erfolgreich agil arbeiten können.