Digital Champions Program at Arvato

Creating an award-winning learning journey that lasts

 

“A successful transformation requires people who drive it” – with that premise in mind, Arvato decided in 2019 to enable top leaders, talents, and change makers to be Digital Champions who can contribute to a successful digital transformation. Even though the content of the program has evolved over the years, the original aim remains the same: To prepare employees for digital change and enable them not only to master this challenge, but to use it to their advantage.

In 2019, Arvato embarked on an ambitious journey to spearhead digital transformation within its ranks. Recognizing that true transformation is driven by its people, they initiated the Digital Champions Program (DCP). This innovative program was designed to empower top leaders, talents, and change makers, turning them into Digital Champions capable of steering the company towards a digitally savvy future  while bringing knowledge and innovation to the entire organization.

Initially, the program was an exclusive platform for 200 people – top management and selected talents. They participated in intensive 1.5-day in-person training sessions, meticulously crafted and delivered by undconsorten. These sessions, limited to 20 participants each, focused on instilling crucial skills in agility and new leadership paradigms. This bespoke approach ensured a highly engaging and effective learning experience.

However, it soon became evident that the potential for Digital Champions extended far beyond the initial 200. As the program gained momentum, Arvato and undconsorten adapted to the increasing demand and evolving landscape. The format was revolutionized, transitioning from physical meetings to a dynamic, virtual learning environment.

This shift included several key innovations:

  • Replacement of the 1.5-day training with a series of succinct, virtual sessions
  • A combination of lectures open to all participants (recorded for accessibility) and small, interactive seminars for in-depth learning
  • Introduction of voluntary deep-dive sessions for participants eager to delve further into specific topics
  • Facilitation of unmoderated peer-exchange, encouraging collaboration and shared learning
  • A novel, university-style approach incorporating elements of gamification, such as credits, a freshers' week, and a graduation ceremony

This reinvention of the DCP has transformed it into an internal brand of Arvato, one that continuously attracts and nurtures talent. Over the years, it has evolved not just in content but as a beacon of Arvato's commitment to digital excellence which received its first elearning award in 2023. At undconsorten, we take pride in our pivotal role in shaping and contributing to the success of the Digital Champions Program, a testament to our expertise in driving meaningful and lasting change in the world of management consulting. 

With the DCP, we aim to empower our employees and equip them with the knowledge and skills they need to thrive in a rapidly changing and digital world.

Linda Coughlan
CHRO

Company facts

Arvato is an innovative and internationally leading service provider in the field of supply chain management and e-commerce and a wholly owned subsidiary of Bertelsmann. By combining many years of industry expertise with the right technologies, Arvato develops innovative solutions for its global customers in the consumer products, tech, healthcare, automotive and publishing sectors. 17,000 employees at around 100 locations work with state-of-the-art cloud technologies. This enables Arvato to provide its customers with the best possible support for their growth targets.

Highlights

Successful mix of training formats

Our training focuses on creating a positive learner experience, with flexible Essentials (foundational virtual sessions offered at multiple times with recordings) and engaging deep-dives for in-depth exploration. The deep-dives encourage interaction through short presentations, peer-to-peer discussions, gamification, and reflection activities, fostering a sense of community among all Digital Champions.

Future-relevant skills for all roles

The Digital Champions Program (DCP) at Arvato empowers employees from diverse roles with the digital skills to drive the company's transformation. Through its tailored curriculum, the DCP promotes digital literacy, inclusive thinking, and effective communication in virtual and in-person settings. It also fosters a growth mindset and culture of continuous learning. For those seeking deeper expertise, the program offers specialized deep-dives on topics such as virtual collaboration, change management, and leadership in a hybrid work environment. Throughout the program, participants engage in small group discussions on unconscious biases, empowering Arvato's Digital Champions to create an inclusive digital future.

Feedback from participants

Check with Daniel, how to best integrate individual quotes

Excellent presentation and story telling. I find beneficial hearing real relatable stories in place in Arvato to bring the learnings from DCP alive.

For me it was the perfect mix of listening to the speakers and "working" on surveys or exercises, I really enjoyed it!

A very interesting and informative presentation from everyone and the practical tips were the cherry on the cake.

Great session; good to get more tips and tricks from others and knowing that everyone is feeling some of that stress also. Great guest speaker with lots of insights and a real handle on the issues that impact everyone.

Related success factors 

Successful organizations are characterized by common alignment, effective positioning, committed employees, effective leaders, high-performing teams, a constructive culture and experience in change. These characteristics are closely linked and reinforce each other.

Corporate culture

Strengthen teams and organizations with effective leaders. Our approach is based on the conviction that organizational structures only really come to life with the enthusiasm and commitment of our employees. It is about transforming formal ideas into tangible reality - and this can only be achieved with each individual in the team.

more

Agile Leadership

We share our perspective on agile leadership and take a look at the three crucial components of mindset, processes and roles. We also clear up common misconceptions and give tips on how you and your team can successfully work in an agile way.

more

Blended Learning

Blended learning stands for the combination of digital learning with traditional face-to-face formats. Blended learning has recently become more and more of a buzzword. Virtual working, training delivered via virtual meeting tools are becoming the standard. This means that every training measure is quickly becoming blended learning. So the question for us is, what is a good blended learning concept?

more

Find out more

Do you have any questions or are you interested in exploring a possible collaboration with undconsorten? Together we can discuss how we can make your organization more successful with a holistic approach and functional expertise with a focus on sustainability, implementation and efficiency.

Our experts look forward to hearing from you! 

Marvin Toulon
Marvin Toulon
Project Manager
York von Negenborn
York von Negenborn
Project Manager
Further related insights

All insights

Restructuring in companies

Restructuring is complex and fraught with risks and uncertainties at all levels. The success of restructuring therefore depends not only on a good concept, but also on the effective management of these risks.

Mission statement for companies: Definition, procedure & example

What is meant by a mission statement? Which elements are typical? And how is a mission statement successfully developed and introduced?

Matrix organisation: Successful application

Matrix organisations help to respond flexibly to the challenges of the VUCA world. The individual design of the matrix organisation requires in-depth familiarisation with the advantages, disadvantages and key success factors. This article also uses practical examples to explain how to successfully introduce a matrix organisation and improve the performance of existing matrix organisations.

Leadership development: concept, methods, objectives and practical tips

Leadership development is the targeted promotion of skills, behaviours and attitudes of managers and a sub-area of personnel development. But what exactly does this mean and how can leadership development succeed in your organisation?

Digital Champions Program bei Arvato

Gestaltung einer preisgekrönten nachhaltigen Lernreise

 

"Eine erfolgreiche Transformation braucht Menschen, die sie vorantreiben" - mit dieser Überzeugung startete Arvato im Jahr 2019 das Digital Champions Program. Ziel war es, Top-Führungskräfte, Talente und Change Maker zu befähigen, eine erfolgreiche digitale Transformation zu gestalten. Auch wenn sich die Inhalte des Programms im Laufe der Jahre weiterentwickelt haben, bleibt der ursprüngliche Anspruch bestehen: Die Mitarbeitenden auf digitale Veränderungen vorbereiten und sie befähigen diese Herausforderung nicht nur zu bewältigen, sondern für sich zu nutzen.

Im Jahr 2019 startete Arvato eine ehrgeizige Reise, um die digitale Transformation innerhalb des Unternehmens voranzutreiben. In der Erkenntnis, dass wahre Transformation von den Menschen getragen wird, initiierten sie das Digital Champions Program (DCP). Dieses innovative Programm wurde entwickelt, um Top-Führungskräfte, Talente und Change Maker zu befähigen, digitale Champions zu werden, die das Unternehmen in eine zukunftsfähige digitale Richtung lenken können und gleichzeitig Wissen und Innovation in die gesamte Organisation tragen können.

Anfangs war das Programm eine exklusive Plattform für 200 Personen – das Top-Management und ausgewählte Talente. Sie nahmen an intensiven 1,5-tägigen Präsenzschulungen teil, die von undconsorten sorgfältig konzipiert und durchgeführt wurden. Diese Sitzungen, die auf 20 Teilnehmer pro Gruppe begrenzt waren, konzentrierten sich darauf, entscheidende Fähigkeiten in Agilität und neuen Führungsparadigmen zu vermitteln. Dieser maßgeschneiderte Ansatz gewährleistete ein höchst engagiertes und effektives Lernerlebnis.

Bald wurde klar, dass das Potenzial der Digital Champions weit über die anfänglichen 200 Personen hinausging. Mit zunehmendem Erfolg des Programms passten Arvato und undconsorten das Format an die steigende Nachfrage und die sich wandelnden Rahmenbedingungen an. Das Format wurde revolutioniert, indem es von physischen Meetings zu einer dynamischen, virtuellen Lernumgebung überging.

Dieser Wechsel beinhaltete mehrere wesentliche Innovationen:

  • Ersatz der 1,5-tägigen Schulungen durch eine Serie von prägnanten, virtuellen Sitzungen
  • Kombination aus Vorlesungen, die allen Teilnehmenden offen standen (aufgezeichnet zur besseren Zugänglichkeit), und kleinen, interaktiven Seminaren für intensiveres Lernen
  • Einführung freiwilliger Deep-Dive-Sitzungen für Teilnehmenden, die sich tiefer mit bestimmten Themen beschäftigen möchten
  • Ermöglichung des unmoderierten Peer-Exchanges zur Förderung von Zusammenarbeit und gemeinsamem Lernen
  • Ein neuer, universitätsähnlicher Ansatz mit Gamification-Elementen wie Credits, einer Einführungswoche und einer Abschlusszeremonie

Diese Neugestaltung des DCP hat es zu einer internen Marke von Arvato gemacht, die kontinuierlich Talente anzieht und fördert. Im Laufe der Jahre hat sich das Programm nicht nur inhaltlich weiterentwickelt, sondern ist auch zu einem Leuchtturm für Arvatos Engagement für digitale Exzellenz geworden, das 2023 seinen ersten elearning-Award bekommen hat. Bei undconsorten sind wir stolz darauf, eine entscheidende Rolle bei der Gestaltung und dem Erfolg des Digital Champions Program gespielt zu haben, was unser Fachwissen im Bereich der Managementberatung und der nachhaltigen Veränderung unterstreicht.

“Mit dem DCP möchten wir unsere Mitarbeitenden befähigen und ihnen das Wissen und die Fähigkeiten vermitteln, die sie benötigen, um in einer sich schnell verändernden und digitalen Welt erfolgreich zu sein.”

Linda Coughlan
CHRO

Fakten zum Unternehmen

Arvato ist ein innovativer und international führender Dienstleister im Bereich Supply Chain Management und E-Commerce und 100%ige Tochtergesellschaft von Bertelsmann. Durch die Kombination von langjährigem Branchenwissen mit den richtigen Technologien entwickelt Arvato innovative Lösungen für seine globalen Kunden in den Bereichen Consumer Products, Tech, Healthcare, Automotive und Publisher. 17.000 Mitarbeitende arbeiten an rund 100 Standorten mit modernsten Cloud-Technologien. So gelingt es Arvato, seine Kunden bei ihren Wachstumszielen bestmöglich zu unterstützen.

Highlights

Erfolgreicher Mix von Trainingsformaten

Unser Training legt den Schwerpunkt auf ein positives Lernerlebnis, mit flexiblen Essentials (grundlegende virtuelle Sitzungen, die zu verschiedenen Zeiten mit Aufzeichnungen angeboten werden) und ansprechenden Deep-Dives für eine vertiefte Erkundung. Die Deep-Dives fördern die Interaktion durch kurze Präsentationen, Peer-to-Peer-Diskussionen, Gamification und Reflexionsaktivitäten, wodurch ein Gemeinschaftsgefühl unter allen digitalen Champions entsteht.

Zukunftsrelevante Kompetenzen für alle Rollen

Das Digital Champions Program (DCP) bei Arvato befähigt Mitarbeitende aus verschiedenen Bereichen mit den digitalen Fähigkeiten zur Unternehmenstransformation. Durch ein maßgeschneidertes Curriculum fördert das DCP digitale Kompetenz, inklusives Denken und effektive Kommunikation sowohl in virtuellen als auch in persönlichen Umgebungen. Es unterstützt zudem eine Wachstumsmentalität und eine Kultur des kontinuierlichen Lernens. Das Programm bietet spezialisierte Deep-Dives zu virtueller Zusammenarbeit, Change Management und Führung in hybriden Umgebungen. Teilnehmende diskutieren unbewusste Vorurteile und gestalten so bei Arvato eine inklusive digitale Zukunft.

Feedback der Teilnehmenden

Ausgezeichnete Präsentation und tolles Storytelling. Ich finde es vorteilhaft, echte, nachvollziehbare Geschichten aus der Praxis bei Arvato zu hören, um die Erkenntnisse aus DCP mit Leben zu füllen.

Für mich war es die perfekte Mischung aus Zuhören und "Arbeiten" an Umfragen oder Übungen, ich habe es wirklich genossen!

Die Präsentation war sehr interessant und informativ, und die praktischen Tipps waren das Tüpfelchen auf dem i.

Großartige Sitzung; es war gut, mehr Tipps und Tricks von anderen zu bekommen und zu wissen, dass jeder auch etwas von diesem Stress spürt. Ein großartiger Gastredner mit vielen Einblicken und einem guten Gespür für die Themen, die jeden betreffen.

Perspektive erweitern – Weiterführende Themen 

Erfolgreiche Organisationen zeichnen sich durch eine gemeinsame Ausrichtung, eine wirksame Positionierung, engagierte Mitarbeitende, effiziente Führungskräfte, leistungsstarke Teams, eine konstruktive Kultur und Erfahrung mit Veränderungen aus. Diese Merkmale sind eng miteinander verknüpft und verstärken sich gegenseitig.

Unternehmenskultur

Teams und Organisationen mit effektiven Führungskräften stärken. Unser Ansatz basiert auf der Überzeugung, dass Organisationsstrukturen nur durch die Begeisterung und das Engagement der Mitarbeiter wirklich zum Leben erweckt werden. Es geht darum, formale Ideen in greifbare Realität zu verwandeln - und das kann nur mit jedem Einzelnen im Team gelingen.

mehr

Agile Leadership

Wir teilen unsere Sicht auf agile Führung und werfen einen Blick auf die drei entscheidenden Komponenten Denkweise, Prozesse und Rollen. Außerdem räumen wir mit gängigen Missverständnissen auf und geben Tipps, wie Sie und Ihr Team erfolgreich agil arbeiten können.

mehr

Blended Learning

Blended Learning steht für die Kombination von digitalem Lernen mit traditionellen Präsenzveranstaltungen. Es hat sich in letzter Zeit immer mehr zu einem Schlagwort entwickelt. Virtuelles Arbeiten, Schulungen, die über virtuelle Meeting-Tools durchgeführt werden, werden zum Standard. Das bedeutet, dass jede Weiterbildungsmaßnahme schnell zu Blended Learning wird. Für uns stellt sich also die Frage: Was ist ein gutes Blended-Learning-Konzept?

mehr

Sprechen Sie uns an

Haben Sie Fragen oder sind Sie an einer Zusammenarbeit mit undconsorten interessiert? Gemeinsam können wir besprechen, wie wir Ihre Organisation mit einem ganzheitlichen Ansatz und funktionaler Expertise mit Fokus auf Nachhaltigkeit, Umsetzung und Effizienz erfolgreicher machen können.

Unsere Experten freuen sich darauf, von Ihnen zu hören! 

Marvin Toulon
Marvin Toulon
Project Manager
York von Negenborn
York von Negenborn
Project Manager
Weitere themenverwandte Insights

Alle Insights

Restrukturierung in Unternehmen

Restrukturierungen sind komplex und mit Risiken und Unwägbarkeiten auf allen Ebenen behaftet. Daher hängt der Erfolg der Restrukturierung nicht nur von einem guten Konzept, sondern auch von der wirksamen Beherrschung dieser Risiken ab.

Leitbild für Unternehmen: Definition, Vorgehen & Beispiel

Was versteht man unter einem Leitbild? Welche Elemente sind typisch? Und wie wird ein Leitbild erfolgreich entwickelt und eingeführt?

Matrixorganisation: Erfolgreiche Anwendung

Matrixorganisationen helfen, flexibel auf die Herausforderungen der VUCA-Welt zu reagieren. Die individuelle Gestaltung der Matrixorganisation erfordert eine tiefgehende Einarbeitung in Vor- und Nachteile und zentrale Erfolgsfaktoren. Dieser Artikel erläutert darüber hinaus anhand von Praxisbeispielen, wie eine Matrixorganisation erfolgreich eingeführt und die Leistung bestehender Matrixorganisationen verbessert wird.

Führungskräfteentwicklung: Konzept, Methoden, Ziele und Praxistipps

Führungskräfteentwicklung ist die gezielte Förderung von Kompetenzen, Verhaltensweisen und Haltungen von Führungskräften und ein Teilbereich der Personalentwicklung. Doch was bedeutet das genau und wie kann Führungskräfteentwicklung in Ihrer Organisation gelingen?