undconsorten LLP

How to focus on user experience for more impact in HR work
The opinion research institute Gallup reports that in Germany approx. 6 million employees have resigned internally, and this tendency is growing. Many companies measure historically low employee engagement values. According to Gartner, only 29% of employees state HR knows what they really need.

The participants of the round table  'Moments that matter in People Management' hosted by undconsorten and Novartis


This is reason enough for us to work with Novartis to find solutions for more effective human resources management. At our round table on "Moments that Matter in People Management", we worked with 18 companies ranging from digital attackers to major international corporations to examine and explore moments in the working lives of employees that are truly crucial - and try to improve them.

One of our discussions was on the topic of personal development. All 18 companies present use a structured development dialogue for this purpose, which usually takes place annually. Despite all the effort and expense involve, it does not create enthusiasm among the employees.

If you look at events, needs and emotional drivers in terms of UX, you quickly understand:

  • For most people, the end of the year is not the right time, because the reason for such an interview is often a new task, a new boss or an alternative job offer, not the upcoming holiday season, for example.

  • What employees are looking for is an honest assessment, recognition of strengths and identifying development areas and options, not ratings or training registrations.

  • The seriousness of the manager, the personal investment in time and real listening make the dialogue valuable and positive. If the other person has no real interest, the negative effects prevail.

Our discussion therefore spoke in favor of a clear flexibilization of the development talks. In this regard, employees and managers should be encouraged to lead them - but only if necessary. In addition, the employee should have the ability to choose the suitable manager themselves. There's no point in forcing those involved into a conversation that they do not wish to have.

The participants also had similar "Aha" experiences with the other "Moments that matter": assuming the first leadership role, talent assessment or performance feedback.

undconsorten LLP

Mit verbesserter Nutzererfahrung mehr Wirkung in der Personalarbeit entfalten
Das Meinungsforschungsinstitut Gallup berichtet, dass in Deutschland ca. 6 Millionen Mitarbeiter innerlich gekündigt haben, mit steigender Tendenz. Viele Unternehmen messen historisch niedrige Employee Engagement Werte. Und laut Gartner sagen nur 29% der Mitarbeiter, dass der Personalbereich weiß, was sie wirklich brauchen.

Die Teilnehmenden des von undconsorten und Novartis veranstalteten Roundtables 'Moments that matter in People Management'


Grund genug für uns, gemeinsam mit Novartis nach Lösungen für wirksamere Personalarbeit zu suchen. Auf unserem Round Table zu „Moments that Matter in People Management“ haben wir zusammen mit 18 Unternehmen von digitalen Attackern bis zu internationalen Großkonzernen die Momente im Arbeitsleben von Mitarbeitenden angeschaut, die wirklich entscheidend sind – und versucht diese zu verbessern.

Einer davon ist die Diskussion über die persönliche Entwicklung. Alle 18 anwesenden Unternehmen nutzen dafür einen strukturierten Entwicklungsdialog, der in der Regel jährlich stattfindet. Für Begeisterung bei den Mitarbeitern sorgt er bei allem Aufwand nicht.

Wenn man sich im Sinne von UX einmal Anlässe, Bedürfnisse und emotionale Treiber anschaut, versteht man schnell:

  • Das Jahresende ist für die meisten nicht der passende Zeitpunkt, denn der Anlass für ein solches Gespräch ist oft eine neue Aufgabe, ein neuer Chef oder ein alternatives Jobangebot, nicht etwa das anstehende Weihnachtsfest.

  • Was Mitarbeitende suchen, ist eine ehrliche Standortbestimmung, Anerkennung von Stärken und Aufzeigen von Entwicklungsfeldern und Erschließung von Optionen, nicht Ratings oder Trainingsanmeldungen.

  • Die Ernsthaftigkeit der Führungskraft, das persönliche zeitliche Invest und echtes Zuhören machen den Dialog wertvoll und positiv. Hat der oder die Andere kein echtes Interesse, überwiegen negative Auswirkungen.

Unsere Diskussion sprach also für eine deutliche Flexibilisierung der Entwicklungsgespräche. Mitarbeitende wie Führungskräfte sollten also angehalten werden, diese zu führen – aber nur bei Bedarf. Und Mitarbeitende sollten sich die passende Führungskraft dafür selbst aussuchen. Es bringt nichts, die Beteiligten in ein Gespräch zu zwingen, dass sie nicht führen wollen.

Ähnliche Aha-Erlebnisse hatten die Teilnehmenden auch bei den anderen „Moments that matter“: Übernahme der ersten Führungsrolle, Talent Assessment oder Leistungsfeedback.