Shaping Leadership Culture

Leadership enables Performance

Companies with effective leadership achieve more. These companies are also more successful on the market. Simply because leadership reaches, motivates and empowers all employees. It aligns their actions with the goals of the organization. Or creates creative space for new, better goals.
Managers are under pressure: they have to reinvent themselves and still ‘deliver’. Higher uncertainty, social changes and shorter product and technology cycles demand speed and flexibility. Agile mindsets and methods create hybrid organizations. What does good leadership mean in this new context? How do ‘high-performing’ teams emerge? And how to create a culture in which effective leadership is possible? Answers to these questions are decisive for the success of companies – in the market and with their employees.

Solutions

What we do

Develop leaders

The demands on managers are constantly (and sometimes suddenly) changing. Leaders’ adaptability and ability to deal with uncertainties are crucial for the success and development of those who are lead by them. After all, these leaders are the role models for the leaders of tomorrow.

How do your leaders need to position themselves for tomorrow? What development programs do your managers need? What should appropriate learning architectures and methods look like?

Strengthen teams

Successful (leadership) teams need a common vision of their strategic direction. And they must grow into a real team themselves. We believe that ‘high-performing’ teams are more important than individualists. In terms of the ‘Growth Mindset’: Every team can step up its performance.

How can your (management) team cooperate? How can we support teams in your organization to collaborate even better?

Change culture

Leadership is not something that happens in a vacuum. It is the corporate culture that provides a framework and helps shape leadership. It is therefore worthwhile to define a target culture consciously and strategically. First steps towards this target include the cooperation between the top management, executives and employees.

How should your corporate culture change? What does good leadership actually mean in your culture? And how does it contribute to your strategy?

How we do it

What we have achieved with our clients

The project

Digitization, ‘New Work’, strategic reorientation. These factors challenged executives at our client – a social insurance agency – more than ever before. The requirements for leadership had to be redefined and re-trained.

Together with our client, we reflected on modern leadership roles and the desired strategic orientation. Based on this, we developed a broad-based training program with adapted goals, new methods and materials. Through a hybrid learning architecture developed by us – both classroom and virtual – leadership principles and leadership skills are now trained and anchored in the everyday life of leaders in our client’s organization.

Our impact

With the newly defined requirements for leaders, hundreds of executives start their new leadership role every year, empowered in knowledge, attitude and behavior. We are particularly pleased with the positive feedback on the training, from participants, trainers and of course our client.

The project

Our client, an infrastructure provider, was undergoing a transformation initiated by its owners. At the same time, the composition of the Management Board changed. In addition, the pressure to perform, which weighed heavily on the company and the Management Board, was considerable.

The new Management Board wanted to not only survive this challenging time, but also shape it as a team. Together we developed a customized team alignment format for the Management Board. In individual and group interventions, clarity and commitment to strategic alignment and cooperation was created. The decisive factor here was the consideration of context, competencies and perspectives of all team members.

Our impact

Today the board itself is a real ‘high-performing’ team. But our support has not only helped at this level: The transformation of the company has also been successfully completed. Our client is still convinced of the sustainable impact of team development and continues to systematically implement it.

The project

For an industrial company, we supported the introduction of a new matrix organization with business units and technical functions. This change also required a comprehensive cultural change: Silo thinking and old hierarchies had no place in the new system.

Together with our client, we initially planned the cultural change. The anchoring of the new organization and culture started with top managers and was then established throughout the organization. New tasks and interfaces were discussed and reflected upon in a cross-functional team, and we improved the cooperation across the board with agile methods and abandoned silo thinking. To anchor this in the organization, we also relied on the support of internal change agents.

Our impact

After just over 3 months, the organization was already working in the new organizational structure and the benefits became apparent. In addition, practical support in day-to-day business successfully identified further optimization needs. A completely new quality of collaboration on core processes could be established.

Contact

Strengthen (top) teams, change culture
Strengthen (top) teams, change culture
Jens Müller-Oerlinghausen
Partner, Head of Leadership Practice
Develop leaders
Develop leaders
Nadeshda Kreya
Associate Principal

Führungs­kultur gestalten

Leistung durch Führung

Unternehmen mit wirkungsvoller Führung leisten mehr. Diese Unternehmen sind auch am Markt erfolgreicher. Ganz einfach, weil Führung alle Mitarbeiter*innen erreicht, motiviert und befähigt – und ihr Handeln an den Zielen der Organisation ausrichtet. Oder kreative Räume für neue, bessere Ziele schafft.
Führungskräfte stehen unter Druck: Sie müssen sich erneuern und trotzdem „liefern“. Unsicherheit, gesellschaftliche Veränderungen und kürzere Produkt- und Technologiezyklen fordern Geschwindigkeit und Flexibilität. Agile Mindsets und Methoden lassen hybride Organisationen entstehen. Was bedeutet in diesem neuen Kontext gute Führung? Wie entstehen ‚high-performing‘ Teams? Und wie schafft man eine Kultur, in der wirkungsvolle Führung möglich ist? Antworten auf diese Fragen entscheiden über den Erfolg von Unternehmen – am Markt und bei den Mitarbeiter*innen.

Lösungen

Woran wir mit Ihnen arbeiten

Führungskräfte entwickeln

Die Anforderungen an Führungskräfte ändern sich ständig (und manchmal plötzlich). Ihre Adaptivität und ihr Umgang mit Unsicherheit sind entscheidend für den Erfolg und Entwicklung derer, die sie führen. Sie sind schließlich auch die Vorbilder für die Führungskräfte von morgen.
Wie müssen Ihre Führungskräfte sich für morgen aufstellen? Welche Entwicklungsprogramme benötigen Ihre Führungskräfte? Wie sollten entsprechenden Lernarchitekturen und Methoden aussehen?

Teams stärken

Erfolgreiche (Führungs-)Teams brauchen eine gemeinsame Vorstellung ihrer strategischen Ausrichtung. Und sie müssen selbst ein echtes Team werden. Wir glauben, dass ‚high-performing‘ Teams entscheidender sind als Individualisten. Im Sinne des ‚Growth Mindsets‘: Jedes Team kann leistungsfähiger werden.

Wie kann Ihr (Führungs-)Team an einem Strang ziehen? Wie können wir Teams in Ihrer Organisation unterstützen, um noch besser zusammenzuarbeiten?

Kultur verändern

Führung arbeitet nicht im luftleeren Raum. Die Unternehmenskultur gibt den Rahmen vor und gestaltet Führung mit. Es lohnt sich also, bewusst und strategisch eine Zielkultur zu definieren. Erste Schritte dorthin gehen wir gemeinsam mit Top-Management, Führungskräften und Mitarbeiter*innen.

Wie müsste sich Ihre Unternehmenskultur ändern? Was heißt eigentlich gute Führung konkret in Ihrer Kultur? Und wie zahlt sie auf Ihre Strategie ein?

Beispiele

Was wir mit unseren Klienten geschafft haben

Das Projekt

Digitalisierung, „New Work“, strategischen Neuausrichtung. Diese Faktoren forderten Führungskräfte bei unserem Klienten – einem Sozialversicherungsträger – stärker heraus als jemals zuvor. Die Anforderungen an Führung mussten neu definiert und neu trainiert werden.

Gemeinsam mit unserem Klienten haben wir moderne Führungskräfterollen und die strategische Ausrichtung reflektiert. Darauf aufbauend haben wir ein breit angelegtes Training erarbeitet, mit angepassten Zielen, neuen Methoden und Materialien. Mit einer von uns entwickelten hybriden Lernarchitektur – sowohl Classroom als auch virtuell – werden das Führungsverständnis und Führungsskills jetzt trainiert und im Alltag verankert.

Unser Impact

Mit den neudefinierten Anforderungen an Führungskräfte starten jährlich hunderte Führungskräfte in ihre neue Führungsrolle, befähigt im Hinblick auf Wissen, Haltung und Verhalten. Besonders freuen uns die positiven Rückmeldungen zum Training, von Teilnehmenden, Trainierenden und natürlich unserem Klienten.

Das Projekt

Unser Klient, ein Infrastrukturanbieter, befand sich in einer vom Eigemtümer initiierten Transformation. Gleichzeitig änderte sich die Zusammensetzung des Vorstands auf mehreren Positionen. Ein hoher Leistungsdruck auf Unternehmen und Vorstand kam noch hinzu.

Der neue Vorstand wollte diese herausfordernde Zeit nicht nur als Team überstehen, sondern auch gestalten. Gemeinsam entwickelten wir ein maßgeschneidertes Team Alignment Format für den Vorstand. In Einzel- und Gruppeninterventionen wurde Klarheit und Verbindlichkeit bei strategischer Ausrichtung und Zusammenarbeit geschaffen. Entscheidend war dabei die Berücksichtigung von Kontext, Kompetenzen und Sichtweisen aller Teammitglieder.

Unser Impact

Heute ist der Vorstand selbst ein echtes ‚high-performing‘ Team. Unsere Unterstützung half aber nicht nur auf dieser Ebene, auch die Transformation des Unternehmens ist inzwischen erfolgreich abgeschlossen. Unser Klient ist heute überzeugt von der nachhaltigen Wirkung von Teamentwicklung und setzt sie systematisch fort.

Das Projekt

Für ein Industrieunternehmen haben wir die Einführung einer neuen Matrix-Organisation mit Business Units und fachlichen Funktionen begleitet. Diese Veränderung machte auch einen umfassenden Kulturwandel erforderlich. Silodenken und alte Hierarchien hatten im neuen System keinen Platz mehr.

Gemeinsam mit unserem Klienten haben wir den Kulturwandel zunächst geplant. Die Verankerung der neuen Organisation und Kultur sollte bei den Top-Führungskräften starten und dann in der ganzen Organisation etabliert werden. Neue Aufgaben und Schnittstellen wurden in einem cross-funktionalen Team diskutiert und reflektiert.Die Zusammenarbeit haben wir in der Breite mit agilen Methoden verbessert und das Silodenken aufgelöst. Zur Verstetigung haben wir zudem auf die Unterstützung interner Change Agents gesetzt.

Unser Impact

Die Organisation arbeitete schon nach etwas mehr als 3 Monaten in der neuen Organisationsstruktur und die Vorteile wurden erfahrbar. Gleichzeitig konnten aus der praktischen Begleitung im Tagesgeschäft erfolgreich weitere Optimierungsbedarfe erkannt und vor allem eine völlig neue Qualität von Zusammenarbeit an Kernprozessen etabliert werden.

Sprechen Sie uns an

(Top-) Teams stärken, Kultur verändern
(Top-) Teams stärken, Kultur verändern
Jens Müller-Oerlinghausen
Partner, Leitung Leadership Practice
Führungskräfte entwickeln
Führungskräfte entwickeln
Nadeshda Kreya
Associate Principal