Shaping Better Organizations

How do you manage change?

Organizations are under pressure. Constantly. Megatrends like digitization, increased competition, changing customer expectations impact today’s organizations – the pace is accelerating, niches are narrowing. And small adjustments are often not enough, but holistic organizational development is needed. A strategic perspective on the required organizational capabilities of tomorrow. A comprehensive understanding is crucial for organizational change that goes beyond structure and processes. Informal aspects are often decisive: How well does collaboration succeed at the interfaces? Are employees working on the right things? Giving the right answers to these questions determine success in the market and among employees.

Solutions

What we do

Organisationa
Design

Designing organizations is often a challenging task: clearly defining requirements, mastering complexity and winning over employees for new ideas. At the same time aligning different stakeholder’s goals and needs.

What is the goal of your new organizational design? Where do you see the biggest challenges for your organization?

Agile
Evolution

Achieving measurable advantages in innovation, customer proximity and efficiency. These ambitious goals can be reached by making your organization more agile. We use an evolutionary approach to ensure that the organization continues to improve even after the project has ended.

Do you want to adopt more agile ways of working? How much change are you ready to take on?

Smart
Reorganization

Turning round the ship around in difficult economic conditions is one of the tougher assignments for leaders. We are convinced that even in that situation, organizations must safeguard as much as possible the foundation for long-term success. Becoming leaner and smarter is no contradiction – and can take companies to the next level.

Where does your company need to become leaner, where smarter? How can employees be involved to generate acceptance?

How we do it

What we have achieved with our clients

The Project

Dissatisfied customers, poor operational performance: After a merger, our telco-client faced very significant business challenges. One of the reasons for this was incomplete organizational integration.

We started identifying pain points, closely working with employees across the organization and generated acceptance for the project. On this basis, the management team developed the new organizational blueprint with our help. As a sparring partner in the final testing, we were able to eliminate the last weaknesses and directly convinced leaders of the new setup. The following communication cascade then went smoothly with the strong support of all leaders.

Our Impact

Our client is still working successfully in the new organization. Satisfaction among employees and customers increased significantly. We are especially happy about the increased motivation of the employees at their work.

The project

Changing customer requirements, new regulatory requirements, increasing competition: Our client – a successful medium-sized software company – found it increasingly difficult to keep up with those market conditions. An agile transformation of the product development organization was the answer.

In a quick analysis, including automated employee surveys and job shadowing, we identified improvement areas for the transformation effort. Improvement areas and pain points were registered in a change backlog to guide the transformation. In this setting, we jointly identified the most important impediments to the project goals – time-to-market, product quality and transparency. We then proceeded to eliminate them through agile practices and methods – as part of a step-by-step, agile transformation. Also, we set up an Executive Action Team and a Change Agent Community who still drive the transformation without any external support today.

Our impact

After only a few weeks our client achieved a significant reduction of time-to-market and a significant reduction of quality costs of new software. The organization gradually realized efficiency improvements – without the frictions of typical reorganization projects. We are especially happy about the personal commitment of the employees for further improvement – based on agile thinking and practices that we established (e.g. Scrum, Kanban). Today, cross-functional teams proactively drive the initiated transformation further.

The Project

An owner-managed family holding was clearly oversized. In addition, the subsidiaries resented the management style and questioned ever more openly the value of services provided by the holding. After a change of CEO, the time to address these issues had come.

In close coordination with the owner and the top management, we accompanied the reorganization. We provided end-to-end support, from designing the new organization to supporting its implementation. Especially important was to drive the cultural change in conjunction with the reorganizing effort.

The trustful and close cooperation with the owner was the basis for a smooth implementation and successful communication to employees and media alike.

Our Impact

The new holding company started with a positive media response, even though it involved massive personnel cuts. Today the targeted headcount reduction is realized. At its new location, the new organization has proven its worth in the strategic management of the subsidiaries and in the context of the COVID-19 pandemic. A change in culture is also clearly under way. The holding company is acting now in a much more collaborative way, both internally and with its subsidiaries.

Contact us

Organizational Design
Organizational Design
Florian Dressler
Principal
Agile Evolution
Agile Evolution
Lucas Brosi
Project Manager
 Reorganization
Reorganization
Axel Sauder
Partner, Head of Organization Practice

Organi­sationen besser machen

Erfolgreich für Markt & Mitarbeitende

Organisationen stehen unter Veränderungsdruck. Andauernd. Megatrends von Digitalisierung bis Demographie, schärferer Wettbewerb, veränderte Kundenerwartungen – das Tempo nimmt zu, die Nischen werden schmaler. Irgendwann reichen kleine Anpassungen nicht mehr. Es braucht eine ganzheitliche Organisationsentwicklung. Eine strategische Perspektive auf die Fähigkeiten der Organisation von morgen. Für akutes Umsteuern, laufende Verbesserungsprozesse oder den großen Wurf. Entscheidend für die Organisationsveränderung ist das übergreifende Verständnis. Neben Struktur und Prozessen sind oft die informellen Aspekte entscheidend. Wie gut gelingt Zusammenarbeit an entscheidenden Schnittstellen? Arbeiten Ihre Mitarbeiter an den richtigen Themen? Wie gelingen Lernen und kontinuierliche Verbesserung? Die Antworten auf diese Fragen entscheiden über Erfolg im Markt und bei Mitarbeitenden.

Lösungen

Woran wir mit Ihnen arbeiten

Organisationsdesign
& -validierung

Das Design von Organisationen ist oft eine Herausforderung: Den eigenen Anspruch klar definieren, Komplexität beherrschen und Mitarbeiter*innen für Neues gewinnen. Und das in einem Umfeld mit unterschiedlichen Stakeholdern und unterschiedlichen Zielen.

Was ist Ihr konkretes Ziel für ein neues Organisationsdesign? Wo sehen Sie die größte Herausforderung für Ihre Organisation?

Agile
Evolution

Organisationen agiler zu machen und dabei messbare Vorteile für Innovationsfähigkeit, Kundennähe und Effizienz erreichen – das geht. Dabei setzen wir auf einen evolutionären Ansatz, so dass die Organisation sich auch nach Projektende weiterentwickelt.

Wollen Sie agiler werden? Zu wie viel Veränderung ist Ihre Organisation bereit?

Smarte
Reorganisation

In wirtschaftlich schwieriger Situation die Wende zu schaffen ist anspruchsvoll genug. Wir sind überzeugt, dass dabei auch der langfristige Erfolg im Blick sein muss. Schlanker und smarter werden ist kein Gegensatz – und kann Unternehmen auf die nächste Stufe bringen.

Wo muss Ihr Unternehmen schlanker werden, wo smarter? Wie können Mitarbeitende eingebunden werden, um Akzeptanz zu erzeugen?

Beispiele

Was wir mit unseren Klienten geschafft haben

Das Projekt

Unzufriedene Kund*innen, schlechte operative Performance: Nach seinem Merger stand unser Klient aus dem Telco-Bereich vor großen Herausforderungen. Grund waren Doppelstrukturen in der Organisation.

Gemeinsam mit Mitarbeiter*innen haben wir wesentliche Pain Points identifiziert und so die Grundlage für eine neue Organisation geschaffen – und durch Einbindung direkt Akzeptanz erzeugt. Das Organisationsdesign selbst war dann Managementaufgabe im kleinen Kreis. Als Sparringspartner im finalen Testing konnten wir letzte Schwachpunkte beheben und dabei direkt Führungskräfte von der neuen Organisation überzeugen. Die von uns geplante Kommunikationskaskade und der Übergang der Mitarbeitenden verlief dann mit der starken Unterstützung der Führungskräfte völlig reibungslos.

Unser Impact

Schon nach kurzer Zeit arbeitete unser Klient erfolgreich in der neuen Struktur – bis heute. Die ab Tag 1 signifikant höherer Zufriedenheit – sowohl von Mitarbeiter*innen als auch der Kunden*innen hält weiterhin an. Besonders freut uns die spürbar höhere Motivation der Mitarbeiter*innen bei ihrer Arbeit.

Das Projekt

Sich immer schneller verändernde Kundenwünsche, neue gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen, wachsender Wettbewerb: Mit dem notwendigen Tempo im Markt konnte unser Klient – ein bisher erfolgreiches mittelständisches Softwareunternehmen – immer schwerer mithalten. Eine agile Transformation der Produktentwicklung sollte diese Themen angehen.

In einer schnelle Analyse, u.A. mit automatisierter Mitarbeiterbefragung und Job-Shadowing in zentraler Meetings, leiteten wir Ansatzpunkte für die Transformation ab. Das daraus entstandene Change-Backlog entwickelten wir regelmäßig gemeinsam weiter. In diesem Setting identifizierten wir gemeinsam die wichtigsten Impediments, die den Projektzielen – Time-to-Market, Produktqualität und Transparenz – entgegenstanden. Durch agile Praktiken und Methoden räumten wir diese dann aus dem Weg – im Rahmen einer schrittweisen, agilen Transformation. Diesen Wandel haben wir über ein Executive Action Team und eine Change-Agent-Community flankiert und verstetigt.

Unser Impact

Im Ergebnis hat unser Klient nach nur wenigen Wochen eine signifikante Verkürzung von Time-to-Market und gleichzeitig eine erhebliche Senkung der Qualitätskosten bei der Entwicklung neuer Softwarekomponenten erreicht. Die Organisation wurde schrittweise leistungsfähiger gestaltet – ohne die Reibungsverluste vieler Reorganisationsprojekte. Besonders freut uns die Eigenverantwortung der Mitarbeiter*innen für die laufende Verbesserung – auf Basis eines agilen Denkens und Praktiken (u.a. Scrum, Kanban). So treiben cross-funktionale Teams den angestoßenen kontinuierlichen Verbesserungsprozess heute proaktiv weiter.

Das Projekt

Eine eigentümergeführte Familienholding war deutlich überdimensioniert, der Wertbeitrag aus Beteiligungssicht nicht zufriedenstellend und die Kultur nicht mehr zeitgemäß. Nach einem Generationenwechsel war es Zeit, diese Themen anzugehen.

In enger Abstimmung mit dem geschäftsführenden Gesellschafter und Top-Führungskräften haben wir die Reorganisation begleitet und end-to-end, von neuem Org-Design bis Umsetzung, begleitet. Entscheidend war dabei die Veränderung der Organisation und der hierarchischen Kultur mitzudenken.

Die vertrauensvolle und enge Zusammenarbeit mit dem geschäftsführenden Gesellschafter war die Grundlage für eine reibungslose Umsetzung und erfolgreicher Kommunikation an Mitarbeiter*innen- und Medien.

Unser Impact

Die neue Holding ist mit einem positivem Medienecho gestartet. Der angekündigte Personalabbau ist inzwischen abgeschlossen. An neuem Standort hat sich die neue Organisation bei der strategischen Steuerung der Beteiligungen und in der Corona-Pandemie bewährt. Auch der Kulturwandel ist erfolgreich eingeleitet, so dass nun intern wie auch mit den Beteiligungen deutlich kollaborativer gearbeitet wird.

Sprechen Sie uns an

Organisations-Design
Organisations-Design
Florian Dressler
Principal
Agile Evolution
Agile Evolution
Lucas Brosi
Project Manager
 Reorganisation
Reorganisation
Axel Sauder
Partner, Leitung Organization Practice