Inspiring
people

Making organizations more humane

Companies that make the best use of their employees’ potential will succeed in the long term. This requires a clear People strategy. Close to the business and with the employees in mind. Only a powerful HR organization can achieve this goal: from recruiting and people development to performance management. To successfully implement it, cooperation with managers and employees is crucial. It turns process into culture.

Solutions

What we do

People &
HR Strategy

What will the business and working environment of the future look like for your company? What does this mean for your structures and working methods, your employees and their skills? What can HR and managers do to prepare for change?

An effective Peope & HR strategy requires more than just considering the employee life cycle. It only becomes truly effective through business proximity. It supports employees and leaders in their daily work. The result is a roadmap with a clear focus: impact before activism.

HR
Transformation

Which offers will HR provide in the future? How will business and employee need to change? What roles and skills will be required in HR? How to best use your HR IT?

Successful HR transformations enable you to unleash the full potential of your employees. Your HR organization needs a future-oriented operating model. Clear communication and true enablement make your HR transformation attractive to employees as well.

Culture, Diversity
& Change

We need more customer proximity, faster decisions, more innovation! What does a corporate culture look like that achieves this? And how do we move in the right direction?

In this business context, diversity and change management get attention of leaders. If the goal is clear, the need for change can be identified. Decisive success factors: Role modelling by leaders, adapting the rules of engagement – and initiatives that create pull from frontline employees.

Recruiting &
Talent Management

How do you find enough suitable employees? Why do candidates decide to work for your company? How do you ensure that your employees are committed and grow?

A talent strategy helps to select the right tools. Depending on your company’s situation and culture, different philosophies can apply: popular or elite sports, plan or market? In any case, the processes and solutions should be truly user oriented.

Learning &
Leadership Development

What skills does a company need for the future? Which learning offers best develop the skills of your leaders and experts? And what do you do when large groups of employees need to learn new things quickly?

Lifelong learning ensures your company’s success and makes your employees better. A strategic plan points the way. And learning opportunities associated with business initiatives bring learning where it is most effective for adults: in day-to-day business.

Performance Management &
Compensation

What control and incentives do you need to increase the performance of your organization? How crucial is the contribution of teams and individual employees? What does an effective performance management process look like? And how does it interact with your other HR processes?

A clear performance philosophy helps to design the processes correctly and to eliminate deficits. Where success depends more on cooperation than on the efforts of individuals, performance culture makes the difference. Compensation is an important component in the war for talent – but not the only one!

How we do it

What we achieve with our clients

The project

The business transformation should also be reflected in HR – this was the starting point for our support in the strategic realignment and digitalization of the HR function.

In an iterative process, we worked with the client team to identify the future-oriented HR topics and developed a people strategy that encompasses more than just the introduction of a global HR IT solution. In doing so, the employees were always clearly in the center of attention and we were able to create transparency about a future globally uniform HR service offering.

In addition, the range of skills we developed in the course of the HR IT implementation not only conveys digital skills and system knowledge, but also actively anchors the new HR role understanding throughout the entire organization.

A moment that mattered

When we examined the vision, mission and initiatives of the new business strategy point by point from a people perspective, we collected many post-its with ideas how to support implementation from the people side: How can we increase diversity in our sales organization to succeed with our multi-channel strategy? How must technical operations be organized to become a cost leader? Typical HR topics were thus given a clear business reference which allowed for focus and clear prioritization.

Our impact

Thanks to a clear prioritization of strategic HR topics, our client manages to achieve success in a structured and continuous manner despite limited resources. It’s nice to see that the entire HR community has grown together in this project and that the HR strategy and the HR operating model are actually brought to life.

The project

As part of a sales push program, we supported the responsible Management Board member in the development and introduction of a foundational training programs for the most important sales roles globally.

Together with a team of experts from various sales areas and the learning function, we defined a company-wide “Way of Selling”, described typical sales roles and identified the most important learning needs with the target groups. It resulted in a sales-specific learning curriculum with four role-specific programs at the center. All programs contained on-the-job learning elements for the direct application of what was learned, linked to the initial sales push approach. Digital learning offers complemented the “blended learning approach”. Subsequently, we helped to build up training partners for localization and delivery in 15 different country clusters and to ensure the anchoring of the programs in the different business units through systematic communication and controlling.

A moment that mattered

A role-specific sales curriculum across business areas from product sales to large plant business, is that possible? The scepticism was significant – until customers interviews revealed significant differences in selling style between representatives of our client, resulting in customer confusion and brand dilution. And when one of the most frequent participant feedbacks in the pilot training was: “I have learned a lot from colleagues from other business units,” most sceptics were convinced.

Our impact

In the first program run, participants have identified and converted leads worth double-digit millions of EUR. By now, thousands of sales employees have completed the global learning programs and noticeably improved the methodological quality and consistency of sales activities.

The project

Our client wanted to revise its performance management system and implement a new process for over 7,000 employees across five divisions. The aim was to replace a backward-looking system with focus on remuneration which was politically abused with a development-oriented one.

We developed the concept in integrated teams, coordinated it with various stakeholders (extended Executive Board, HR organization, works council) and supported its implementation. Validation with the target group itself (managers and employees) in workshops was a clear success factor. In addition, the empowerment of senior and middle managers through motivating communication and intensive monitoring of the cultural change played a decisive role in ensuring that the new performance development system was actually lived by everyone.

Our impact

The most important changes were the abolition of ratings and the introduction of more regular feedback with a clear focus on strengths as well as the decoupling of compensation. This was also very positively evaluated in the organization: the more intensive use of feedback and the stronger focus on development by managers was highlighted in surveys.

Contact us

HR Strategy and HR Transformation
HR Strategy and HR Transformation
Axel Hüttmann
Partner, Head of People Practice
 Talent and Performance Management
Talent and Performance Management
Thekla Schmidt
Project Manager
Learning and Development
Learning and Development
Christina Frohn
Project Manager

Menschen
bewegen

Organisationen menschlicher machen

Es setzen sich die Unternehmen langfristig durch, die das Potenzial ihrer Mitarbeiter*innen am besten nutzen. Dafür braucht es eine klare HR-Strategie. Nah am Geschäft und mit den Mitarbeitenden im Blick. Nur eine schlagkräftige HR-Organisation kann dieses Ziel erreichen: Von Recruiting und People Development bis zum Performance Management. Damit das funktioniert ist die Zusammenarbeit mit Führungskräften und Mitarbeitenden entscheidend. Die gelebte Kultur macht den Unterschied!

Lösungen

Woran wir mit Ihnen arbeiten

Personal und
HR-Strategie

Wie sehen das Geschäft und die Arbeitswelt der Zukunft für Ihr Unternehmen aus? Was bedeutet das für Ihre Strukturen und Arbeitsweisen, Ihre Mitarbeitenden und deren Fähigkeiten? Was können HR und Führungskräfte tun, um Veränderungen vorzubereiten?

Eine wirksame Personalstrategie verlangt mehr als die Betrachtung des Mitarbeiterlebenszyklus. Erst durch Geschäftsnähe wird sie wirklich schlagkräftig. Sie unterstützt Mitarbeitende und Führungskräfte in ihrer täglichen Arbeit. So entsteht ein Fahrplan mit Fokus: Wirkung vor Aktionismus.

HR
Transformation

Welche Angebote macht HR in der Zukunft? Wie ändern sich die Bedürfnisse von Geschäft und Mitarbeitenden? Welche Rollen und Fähigkeiten braucht es dazu im HR-Bereich? Wie nutzen Sie HR-IT optimal?

Erfolgreiche HR-Transformationen ermöglichen, die Potenziale Ihrer Mitarbeitenden zu nutzen. Ihre HR-Organisation braucht ein zukunftsgerichtetes Operating Models. Klare Kommunikation und Angebote zur Befähigung machen Ihre HR-Transformation auch für die Mitarbeitenden attraktiv.

Kultur, Diversität
& Change

Wir brauchen mehr Kundennähe, schnellere Entscheidungen, mehr Innovation! Wie sieht eine Unternehmenskultur aus, die das erreicht? Und wie verändern wir uns in die richtige Richtung?

Mit diesem Geschäftsbezug werden Diversität und Change Management für Führungskräfte relevant. Wenn das Ziel klar ist, dann lässt sich auch der Veränderungsbedarf identifizieren. Entscheidende Erfolgsfaktoren bei der Umsetzung: Die Vorbildrolle von Führung, neue Spielregeln der Zusammenarbeit – und Initiativen an der Basis.

Recruiting
&
Talent Management

Wie finden Sie genug passendes Personal? Warum entscheiden sich Mitarbeiter für Ihr Unternehmen? Wie sorgen Sie dafür, dass Ihre Mitarbeiter engagiert sind und sich entwickeln – für die Anforderungen von morgen?

Eine Talentstrategie hilft die passenden Instrumente auszuwählen. Je nach Unternehmenssituation und –kultur sind dabei unterschiedliche Philosophien sinnvoll: Wollen Sie Breiten- oder Spitzensport, Planung oder Markt? Auf jeden Fall sollten die Prozesse und Angebote so nutzerorientiert wie möglich sein.

Learning &
Führungskräfte-
Entwicklung

Welche Fähigkeiten braucht Unternehmen für die Zukunft? Welche Lernangebote entwickeln die Fähigkeiten Ihrer Führungskräfte und Experten am besten weiter? Und was tun Sie, wenn große Gruppen von Mitarbeitenden schnell neue Dinge lernen müssen?

Lebenslanges Lernen sichert Ihren Unternehmenserfolg und macht Ihre Mitarbeiter besser. Ein strategischer Plan weist die Richtung. Und mit Geschäftsinitiativen verbundene Lernangebote bringen Lernen dahin, wo es für Erwachsene am wirksamsten ist: in den Geschäftsalltag.

Performance
Management &
Compensation

Welche Steuerung und Anreize brauchen Sie, um die Leistung Ihrer Organisation zu steigern? Wie entscheidend ist der Beitrag von Teams, von einzelnen Mitarbeitern? Wie sieht ein wirksamer Performance Management Prozess aus? Und wie spielt er mit Ihren anderen Personalprozessen zusammen?

Eine klare Performance-Philosophie hilft, die Prozesse richtig zu gestalten und Defizite zu beseitigen. Wo Erfolg stärker von Zusammenarbeit als der Anstrengung Einzelner abhängt, steigt die Bedeutung der Performance Kultur. Dabei ist Vergütung eine im Wettbewerb um Talente wichtige Komponente – aber nicht die einzige!

Beispiele

Was wir mit unseren Klienten geschafft haben

Das Projekt

Die Geschäftstransformation soll sich auch in HR widerspiegeln – mit diesem Startpunkt begann unsere Unterstützung bei der strategischen Neuausrichtung sowie Digitalisierung der HR Funktion.

In einem iterativen Prozess haben wir gemeinsam mit dem Kliententeam die zukunftsweisenden HR-Themen identifiziert und eine People Strategie entwickelt, die mehr umfasst als die Einführung einer globalen HR-IT-Lösung. Dabei standen die Mitarbeitende immer klar im Zentrum und wir konnten Transparenz über ein zukünftig global einheitliches HR-Service Angebot schaffen.

Das von uns erarbeitete Befähigungsangebote im Zuge der HR-IT-Implementierung vermittelt zudem nicht nur digitale Fähigkeiten und Systemkenntnis sondern verankert aktiv das neue HR Rollenverständnis in der gesamten Organisation.

Ein Schlüsselmoment

Als wir Vision, Mission und Initiativen der gerade beschlossenen Geschäftsstrategie Punkt für Punkt aus dem Blickwinkel Personal beleuchteten, sammelten sich die Post-its mit personalseitigen Ansatzpunkte zur Umsetzung: Wie erhöhen wir die Diversität in unserem Vertrieb mit Blick auf die geplante Multikanal-Strategie? Wie muss eine Produktion organisiert sein, die Kostenführer werden soll?  So bekamen typische HR-Themen klaren Geschäftsbezug und erlaubten Fokus und Priorisierung.

Unser Impact

Dank einer klaren Priorisierung der strategischen HR-Themen schafft es unser Klient trotz beschränkter Ressourcen strukturiert und kontinuierlich Erfolge zu erzielen. Es ist schön zu sehen, dass in diesem Projekt zudem die gesamte HR-Community zusammengewachsen ist und damit die HR-Strategie sowie das HR Operating Model tatsächlich zum Leben erweckt werden.

Das Projekt

Im Rahmen einer Vertriebsoffensive unterstützten wir den verantwortlichen Konzernvorstand bei der Entwicklung sowie Einführung von globalen Trainings für die wichtigsten Vertriebsrollen.

Gemeinsam mit einem Expertenteam aus verschiedenen Vertriebsbereichen und der Lernfunktionen haben wir einen unternehmensweiten “Way of Selling” definiert, typische Vertriebsrollen beschrieben und mit der Zielgruppe die wichtigsten Lernbedarfe identifiziert für  ein vertriebsspezifisches Lerncurriculum mit vier rollenspezifischen Programmen. Alle Programme enthielten on-the-job Lernelemente zur direkten Anwendung des Erlernten im Arbeitsalltag sowie digitale Formate basierend auf dem „blended Learning-Ansatz“. Anschließend haben wir geholfen, Trainingspartner für die Lokalisierung und Lieferung in 15 verschiedenen Länderclustern aufzubauen und durch systematische Kommunikation und Steuerung für die Verankerung der Programme in den verschiedenen Geschäftsbereichen zu sorgen.

Ein Schlüsselmoment

Ein rollenspezifisches Vertriebscurriculum über Geschäftsfelder vom Produktvertrieb bis zum Großanlagengeschäft, kann das gehen? Die Skepsis war groß – bis Kunden in Interviews äußerten, wie befremdlich sie das unterschiedliche Auftreten von Vertriebsmitarbeitern aus verschiedenen Geschäftsfeldern fanden. Und als im Pilottraining eines der am häufigsten Teilnehmerfeedbacks lautete: “Ich habe viel von Kolleginnen und Kollegen aus anderen Geschäftsfeldern gelernt”, waren auch die meisten Skeptiker überzeugt.

Unser Impact

In den ersten Programmdurchläufen haben die Teilnehmer Leads im zweistelligen Millionenbereich identifiziert und zum Abschluss getrieben. Inzwischen haben Tausende von Vertriebsmitarbeitern die globalen Lernprogramme absolviert und spürbar die methodische Qualität und Konsistenz der Vertriebsaktivitäten gesteigert.

Das Projekt

Unser Klient wollte sein Performance Management System überarbeiten und einen neuen Prozess für über 7.000 Mitarbeitende in fünf Divisionen einführen. Ziel war die Ablösung eines politisch genutzten, vergangenheits- und vergütungsorientierten Systems durch ein auf Entwicklung ausgerichtetes Performance Development System.

Wir haben in integrierten Teams das Konzept entwickelt, mit vielseitigen Stakeholdern (erweiterter Vorstand, HR-Organisation, Betriebsrat) abgestimmt und die Umsetzung begleitet. Dabei stellte die Validierung mit der Zielgruppe selbst (Führungskräfte und Mitarbeitende) in Workshops einen klaren Erfolgsfaktor dar. Außerdem spielte die Befähigung von oberen und mittleren Führungskräften durch eine motivierende Kommunikation und die intensive Begleitung des Kulturwandels eine entscheidende Rolle, damit das neue Performance Development System von allen tatsächlich gelebt wird.

Unser Impact

Die wichtigsten Änderungen waren die Abschaffung von Ratings und Einführung von regelmäßigerem Feedback mit klarer Stärkenorientierung sowie die Entkopplung von Vergütung. Dies wurde auch sehr positiv in der Organisation bewertet: Die intensivere Anwendung von Feedback und die stärker gelebte Ausrichtung auf Entwicklung seitens der Führungskräfte wurden in Befragungen hervorgehoben.

Sprechen Sie uns an

HR Strategy & HR Transformation
HR Strategy & HR Transformation
Axel Hüttmann
Partner, Leitung People Practice
Learning & Development
Learning & Development
Christina Frohn
Project Manager
 Talent & Performance Management
Talent & Performance Management
Thekla Schmidt
Project Manager